PITCHFORK MUSIC FESTIVAL – UNION PARK – CHICAGO, IL – 7-20-2014 (DAY THREE)

Last day of the festival. Bittersweet moment at any music festival. The wedding I attended the night before did not exactly leave me in a proper state of hydration (my own doing). But as I dragged myself along the entrance of Union Park one last time, my incredible thirst for water led me to finally bite the bullet and buy some $1 water bottles from the respectful sellers near the main gate. Needless to say, I bought three water bottles and pulled a Chevy Chase:

All three gone in a few minutes. And this was before I got my ticket scanned to get inside. I was ready:

20140720_132812(0)

20140720_133524

East-coast band Speedy Ortiz played their melodic alt-rock during a cloudy start to day three. Recently releasing their new EP Real Hair, the band saw a refreshed looking crowd nod their heads throughout their set, especially when the sound of heavy distortion launched from their speakers.

20140720_132942

Mutual Benefit’s soothing chamber/indie pop was the other band to start out day three. The band did well during the opening set, as the crowd gathered around to hear their layered and mellow songs.

20140720_135009

Indie-rock band DIIV (pronounced “dive”) showcased their reverb-dense sound to a very receptive crowd. It was an easy-going set that established the mood for the opening part of the festival. DIIV is coming off their latest (and well received) debut studio album Oshin,and a yet unnamed new album coming out sometime this year.

20140720_140515

I honestly cannot express how much I enjoyed Perfect Pussy (and yes, that’s the name of their band). Please listen to this band. Lo-fi punk never sounded so good. Recently releasing their debut studio album, Say Yes to Love, Perfect Pussy electrified the crowd with their brand of unabashed energetic fury. Lead singer, Meredith Graves, never seemed to stop jumping up and down (just amazing cardio)! They just blew me away and were by far one of the best sets I caught this weekend. I cannot wait to see them again.

20140720_143119

The shoe-gaze metal band Deafheaven possibly brought out the most rabid crowd from the entire weekend as their set started with a swirling mosh pit in front of the stage. I was afraid, lead singer, George Clarke was going to pass out from singing so loudly. The jangling guitars and excellent rhythm section drew some high marks from me.

20140720_152938

The massively acclaimed, LA rapper, Earl Sweatshirt had the entire crowd swaying and head bobbing as he unleashed his smooth lyrics to a cheerful crowd. The truth is, Earl Sweatshirt is just a fun person to listen to, and his interactions with the crowd only reciprocated the good vibes between everyone.

20140720_155416

The indie-pop band, Dum Dum Girls, played a dreamy-pop set that relayed a reserved-yet-energetic vibe? (I know oxymoron…feel free to write me an angry letter). But those tinges of new wave definitely got the crowd tapping right along.

20140720_162806

Yes, there was definitely a smell of marijuana in the air, but you really couldn’t have it any other way when Schoolboy Q hit the stage. Once “Collard Greens” starting playing it was pretty much a free-for-all.

20140720_194258

20140720_200732

Fun. That’s really the only way to describe Grimes, the synth-pop and just…overall talented artist. She brought the crowd to an incandescent mood. Plus, her two dancers nearly stole the show away from her. Theatrical but brimming with honest energy, Grimes proved to be more than capable of commanding the huge crowd in front of her. Her hit song “Genesis” drew the highest screams. As she continued to shuffle between the mike stand in front of the stage and her keyboard, the smile on her face never seemed to fade away, which naturally transferred to the crowd.

20140720_205650_LLS

Kendrick Lamar, arguably the hottest rapper in the world right now, headlined Pitchfork to a massive crowd. The guy is simply a superstar now. With hands waving in the air as far as the eye could see, Kendrick orchestrated the crowd like a seasoned pro. Still basking from the universally revered good kid, m.A.A.d city, Kendrick is planning to release a new album later this year.

Before I go…pants of the festival go this this guy (well done, sir):

20140720_211117

Overall…I would rate Pitchfork Music Festival 2014 a success by all accounts.

I’m still saddened that I missed St. Vincent, but hopefully I’ll get to see her in Chicago soon.

Well, Geoffrey Chaucer once recounted that there’s indeed an end to everything, even the good things:

At least until the next concert…see ya’ then.

Leave a comment